you're reading...
Audience, Blogging, engagement

The Queens of Hearts in Content Marketing and Social Media


Since I wrote my piece on storytelling in this space, I realize I was far from being original when choosing the title. Many have agreed content is king however I now realize that the crowning of the queen is a coveted spot with many claiming the position! In fact it was recently suggested that the term/cliché may be overused. Perhaps. My position is –  who cares! They are all contenders in this category and it is not so much the cliché but  does the associated content have any value? From my research, many of these bloggers make really good points and should be considered when thinking about blogging and content marketing. So may I suggest another term that will hopefully become oversued? :) Yes, I dare go there- they are the Queens of Hearts in content marketing! LOL! They are  key points and get to the heart of the matter if you are to succeed (yes you may groan- I deserve that …. but work with me here, is it not true ? ;) ). After all it is Valentine’s day and quite fitting don’t you think? So what is my  line up?! Are you with me…here are the Queens of Hearts in content marketing:

1. Context

Many have claimed context as queen and I have listed a number of articles below. Amy Manus writes a post on the importance of understanding the target audience or consumer base which I could not agree more! Early in her post, she states: “The absence of a consumer content-focused strategy can often result in an overload of irrelevant content, choice avoidance, and layers of confusion for consumers.” Absolutely! Without focus and content that the consumer can relate to, you are just pushing out text and adding to the noise. Amy, goes on to highlight the importance of really understanding your audience and what they would consider worth reading. Marketers need to rethink advertising with a push mentality and embrace a targeted valued dialogue with the consumer.

2. Quality 

There are two sides to the quality equation, namely 1) that the content will add value to your audience and in turn 2) will ensure a valuable search result when your targeted audience is looking for that subject matter in question. JMagary writes on the SEO aspects of quality and congers up a good discussion on the topic. I think the takeaway is that you should not compromise on quality – it is key for your audience and search juice.

3. Creative 

Pam  Didner ordains “Creative” as queen and speaks to delivery. A topic near and dear to my heart . Pam shares that “Compelling content is king, and creative development is queen, and the royal couple requires cultivation and time” . Very clever. I would add, when you get the balance right of the two,  you have a powerful marriage! She goes on to make 8 points you should consider in your creative development process. Definitely worth the read.

4. Distribution

Now this category is not as focused as those above. Clearly distribution includes the various social platforms one would share your marvelous creation. Hot on the list these days are video and mobile- they should certainly be considered. The stats here are significant and forever growing. There is also alot of passion about backlinking too. I would always go back to ask the question: “Where are your clients, customers, friends of your customers and audience?”. Then work from there. You may have to do a little experimentation in order to get the mix right.

5. Storytelling

Well you know I have to reference my post on storytelling- not because it is mine but because I do believe thinking through the story, the goal and delivery are valuable to success and furthermore  incorporates a number of the key points above. I think if you consider these key points it will provide a good platform on where to start.

That’s my line up for this Valentine’s day. Have a good one! Let me know what you think!

Cheers

Shirley

About Shirley Williams

I have a passion to create, resolve and build.I have had a pretty dynamic career that some say has led to a solid reputation as a visionary, result-driven and passionate leader. I say, simplify the complexity, work WITH people and you have a formula that not only deliver results but forms bonds that will stand the test of time. I have led numerous initiatives with a geographical scope that has included Canada, US, The South Americas,Europe and Australia. My professional career spans Biotechnology, Brand & Generic Pharmaceuticals, IBM Business Consulting Services, Healthcare, Retail, Electronics, more recently Mining and now Social Media. I am a biochemist and have a Master of Scence degree in endocrine pharmacology. I am a certified practitioner and professional in Change Management (Prosci), Project Management (PMP/PMI) and Social Media (OMCP, Online Marketing Certified Professional). So that makes my full title to be: Shirley Williams, MSc. PMP. CMC. OCMP. Having spent many years in the LifeSciences (you can check my career profile on Linkedin ) I have now directed my attention to bridging strategy and goals with social media. Loving it! In fact I am passionate about it. I have also produced and currently host my own internet radio show. My programs to-date have included Rise Of The Patient and Give Startups A Chance. I consider myself as an Experience Enabler. I facilitate and advocate for improved experience from the consumer perspective. Thank you for stopping by to check me out!

Discussion

12 thoughts on “The Queens of Hearts in Content Marketing and Social Media

  1. Great article but now I have an old Juice Newton song stuck in my head.

    Posted by camountain | February 14, 2012, 7:27 pm
  2. Very well written article with clear content. Useful to everyone! Thanks for sharing.

    Posted by sallykwitt | February 14, 2012, 7:40 pm
  3. Value created! Like your post!

    Posted by Gregory Jackson | February 14, 2012, 11:19 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: The Queens of Hearts in Content Marketing and Social Media | Social Media Pearls | Scoop.it - February 14, 2012

  2. Pingback: The Queens of Hearts in Content Marketing and Social Media | Canada Goes Social! | Scoop.it - February 14, 2012

  3. Pingback: The Queens of Hearts in Content Marketing and Social Media | Latest Social Media News | Scoop.it - February 15, 2012

  4. Pingback: Social Media A to Z Series: S is for the Social in Social Media « Social Media Pearls - February 19, 2012

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

SPONSORS: GOOD PEOPLE WHO HAVE MY BACK

"We all have untapped power and definite purpose" Henry Ford. Click Above To Learn More.

Find Shirley on Xeeme: Her social presence

Google Plus Profile

shirley williams
img
Facilitator of Strategy, Business Transformation and Social Media...
In 1058 circles Add Widget

Follow me on twitter

Follow me on Linkedin

See Shirley on HootSuite: A Certified HootSuite Social Media Consultant

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

