you're reading...
SOCIAL MEDIA

Breaking Down The Complexity of Social Media: A to Z Series



There is so much information out there on social media! It is mind-blowing. With so much buzz, so many sites, with so many acronyms,  the whole topic seems complex. Where do you start? So in the coming weeks, I intend to take you on a journey. I am going to simplify.  That’s right, breaking it down.  I am calling  this journey the social media alphabet.  I will be providing information for those who are thinking about entering the social media arena but not quite sure where to start. I also would like to think there will be some valuable social media pearls for  the social media veterans who have decided to join us.  So by way of introduction let me answer a couple of questions.

So, what is social media?

Social media is simply just media you create, where you gather and socialize. That’s it. It is:

  • Where you share interesting stuff;
  • Where you share what’s happening in your life;
  • Where you get the best deals, eats, treats, laughs, entertainment;
  • Where you may share your concerns;
  • Where you share your best finds;
  • Where you make new friends near and far;
  • Where you share your differences;
  • Where you can find people of similar interests no matter how unique that interest might be.

Social media is where you publish and determine what’s in the media. Therefore you are deciding the program for the day. And it happens at a meeting place of your choosing! What’s not to love!

So what should you expect in this series?

I am going to run through the alphabet to summarize social media in simple terms which you can use as a basic reference.

My upcoming posts will touch on:

AudienceBlogsCommentsDiscountsEngagementFacebook; GoogleHashtagInfluencersJargon;

Klout;  LinkedinMeasure  & MonitorNetworksOptimize; Plugins; Questions; Reputation; 

SocialTwitterUser-Profile; Viral Marketing; World Wide WebX marks the spot; YouTube; and  ZZzzzz

Aimless wondering as it relates to social media.

If you are lost and think you are meandering aimlessly through the social media maze join us!

Now, is there anything missing?  Tell your friends and colleagues. Feel free to share this post and join me on this ride.


Photo courtesy of FlickrCarbonNYC; Cartoon used with permission of Cartoonist.

About Shirley Williams

I have a passion to create, resolve and build.I have had a pretty dynamic career that some say has led to a solid reputation as a visionary, result-driven and passionate leader. I say, simplify the complexity, work WITH people and you have a formula that not only deliver results but forms bonds that will stand the test of time. I have led numerous initiatives with a geographical scope that has included Canada, US, The South Americas,Europe and Australia. My professional career spans Biotechnology, Brand & Generic Pharmaceuticals, IBM Business Consulting Services, Healthcare, Retail, Electronics, more recently Mining and now Social Media. I am a biochemist and have a Master of Scence degree in endocrine pharmacology. I am a certified practitioner and professional in Change Management (Prosci), Project Management (PMP/PMI) and Social Media (OMCP, Online Marketing Certified Professional). So that makes my full title to be: Shirley Williams, MSc. PMP. CMC. OCMP. Having spent many years in the LifeSciences (you can check my career profile on Linkedin ) I have now directed my attention to bridging strategy and goals with social media. Loving it! In fact I am passionate about it. I have also produced and currently host my own internet radio show. My programs to-date have included Rise Of The Patient and Give Startups A Chance. I consider myself as an Experience Enabler. I facilitate and advocate for improved experience from the consumer perspective. Thank you for stopping by to check me out!

Discussion

9 thoughts on “Breaking Down The Complexity of Social Media: A to Z Series

  1. quite an informative article…thanks…

    Posted by manish | August 21, 2011, 10:40 am
  2. What a great concept – cleverly and neatly tied in! I am looking forward to reading all, but am very kean to see your thoughts on Measure & Monitor and what formula of soft and hard ROI plays in to measure.

    Posted by Keli Whidden | August 22, 2011, 3:27 pm
  3. Keli, thank you for this feedback. Measure and Monitor is a hot topic these days. Especially as it relates to ROI. So definitely, lets continue that dialogue when we arrive at M is for Measure and Monitor.

    Posted by Shirley Williams | August 22, 2011, 6:30 pm
  4. S for me must be storytelling

    Posted by ianberry (@ianberry1) | September 10, 2011, 5:12 pm
    • Ian,
      Lovely to see you here! I am a huge supporter of storytelling. In my B for Blogs blogpost- I actually share that this is where you tell ” your story” and although many describe the activity as blogging which in the purest sense it is- I do believe when you post your are storytelling. So we are of like minds as I think we are saying that this is a very important part of these communities.
      Stay tuned for my “S for Social” post. Thank you for the feedback!

      Posted by Shirley Williams | September 10, 2011, 6:09 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Social Media A to Z Series: A is for Audience « Social Media Pearls: Welcome! - August 24, 2011

  2. Pingback: Social Media A to Z Series: S is for the Social in Social Media « Social Media Pearls - February 19, 2012

  3. Pingback: Social Media A to Z Series: Rocking the A to Z of Twitter and Tweets « Social Media Pearls - March 10, 2012

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

SPONSORS: GOOD PEOPLE WHO HAVE MY BACK

"We all have untapped power and definite purpose" Henry Ford. Click Above To Learn More.

Find Shirley on Xeeme: Her social presence

Google Plus Profile

shirley williams
img
Facilitator of Strategy, Business Transformation and Social Media...
In 1058 circles Add Widget

Follow me on twitter

Follow me on Linkedin

See Shirley on HootSuite: A Certified HootSuite Social Media Consultant

