you're reading...
Influencers, SOCIAL MEDIA, Technology

Saluting an Inspirational Leader: Steve Jobs

While perusing Digg, I saw a comment on a post I recently published on Apple: Steve Jobs co-founder and chief executive officer of Apple Inc, died 35 mins ago. I feverishly started to scan all my networks for information to validate the comment. Sadly, it was true. Then I found myself, listening to all news bulletins for the rest of the evening.

Why? I had never met him? He was essentially a distant figurehead far beyond my reach. And there, you have it. Reach.

With his ingenuity, leadership and passion, he had reached so many on so many levels.  I, like so many, was touched and moved by the news. Without a doubt – a sense of loss.

Steve Jobs was an inspirational leader- another who had dropped out of school and started a career in a garage. Something to be said about following your dreams and living off your passion.

His life’s journey is inspirational and his accomplishments leave many  in awe. We could only hope to achieve in 80-100 years what he did in 56.  I was going to write a few bullets on his milestones- instead, I will share a blogpost I found on 100 things you didn’t know about Apple and Steve Jobs.

I salute this inspirational leader and end this post with one of his quotes:

“Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Don’t be trapped by dogma – which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of other’s opinions drown out your own inner voice. And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary.” Steve Jobs 1955-2011

RIP.

Shirley

About Shirley Williams

I have a passion to create, resolve and build.I have had a pretty dynamic career that some say has led to a solid reputation as a visionary, result-driven and passionate leader. I say, simplify the complexity, work WITH people and you have a formula that not only deliver results but forms bonds that will stand the test of time. I have led numerous initiatives with a geographical scope that has included Canada, US, The South Americas,Europe and Australia. My professional career spans Biotechnology, Brand & Generic Pharmaceuticals, IBM Business Consulting Services, Healthcare, Retail, Electronics, more recently Mining and now Social Media. I am a biochemist and have a Master of Scence degree in endocrine pharmacology. I am a certified practitioner and professional in Change Management (Prosci), Project Management (PMP/PMI) and Social Media (OMCP, Online Marketing Certified Professional). So that makes my full title to be: Shirley Williams, MSc. PMP. CMC. OCMP. Having spent many years in the LifeSciences (you can check my career profile on Linkedin ) I have now directed my attention to bridging strategy and goals with social media. Loving it! In fact I am passionate about it. I have also produced and currently host my own internet radio show. My programs to-date have included Rise Of The Patient and Give Startups A Chance. I consider myself as an Experience Enabler. I facilitate and advocate for improved experience from the consumer perspective. Thank you for stopping by to check me out!

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Saluting an Inspirational Leader: Steve Jobs

  1. Really nice, Shirley. Well done.

    Christine

    Posted by Christine Westover | October 6, 2011, 10:12 am
  2. In the last 24 hours I have seen a lot of posts, videos and articles about the passing of Steve Jobs where people say his claim to fame was overrated. Obviously there’s no respect even in death, but the guy took something that was essentially going to be thrown out and, over the years, developed and marketed some of the most useful communication and computing technologies the world has ever known.

    Selfishness is the only explanation for behavior like this.

    RIP, Steve Jobs, and Fare thee well.

    Posted by Leda Acquilla | October 6, 2011, 10:53 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Steve Jobs Everlasting Tribute « mummythompson - October 6, 2011

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

SPONSORS: GOOD PEOPLE WHO HAVE MY BACK

"We all have untapped power and definite purpose" Henry Ford. Click Above To Learn More.

Find Shirley on Xeeme: Her social presence

Google Plus Profile

shirley williams
img
Facilitator of Strategy, Business Transformation and Social Media...
In 1058 circles Add Widget

Follow me on twitter

Follow me on Linkedin

See Shirley on HootSuite: A Certified HootSuite Social Media Consultant

